Driving under the influence is a common crime that people are charges with. Some are facing this for the first time and never have been charged with a crime before. Regardless of your situation, a DUI conviction is associated with serious consequences.
The consequences of a DUI conviction are serious. These include prison time, heavy fines, license suspension, alcohol treatment, interlock ignition installation, and raised insurance rates. Even a first-time offender may receive severe penalties.
The attorneys at Del Collo & Mazzanti are ready to defend you and will work to protect you and minimize the penalties associated with a DUI.
CALL US NOW FOR A FREE CONSULTATION
For first time offenders, the penalties vary and depend on your Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC), the penalties for DUI vary. If this is your first offense and your BAC is between 0.08% to 0.099%, you will be facing:
- 6 months of probation
- $300 fine
- Mandatory alcohol highway safety school
- Alcohol and drug treatment
- Community Service
CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION ON THE GRADING AND SENTENCING FOR DUI’S
In Pennsylvania, first time offenders may be eligible for the Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition Program, referred to as ARD. The primary purpose of the program is the rehabilitation of the offender and secondarily the prompt disposition of charges, eliminating the need for costly and time-consuming trials or other court proceedings. Accordingly, Defendants are generally required to waive certain constitutional rights in exchange for consideration of their case for ARD. Additionally, ARD requirements include completion of Alcohol Safety School, completion of a drug/alcohol program, loss of your driver’s license for up to 90 days, and payment of fines. Upon completion of the ARD program, you may be able to have the record of your DUI expunged.
The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania has a Zero Tolerance Law for convicted offenders of DUI who are under the age of 21. If you are convicted and are under the age of 21, you will have a license suspension for one year, possible jail time, and be fined between $500 and $5,000. If this scenario applies to you, contact us now.